Why I’m Blogging About EGE / EGID

I’m a 40 something woman living in Ontario Canada, having just been diagnosed a little over a week ago with a rare digestive disorder called Eosinophilic Gastroenteritis – EGE / Eosinophilic Gastro Intestinal Disorder – EGID.

After a whirlwind of a week and a complete roller coaster of emotions I’ve decided to chronicle my journey with EGE / EGID in the hopes that some of my past, present and/or future research will benefit others who may have or know someone with this challenging disease, because upon first searching, most of the stories I’ve found are moms sharing their experience living with this disease in young children.

I want to start by saying I’m not here to tell anyone how to treat it, cure it or cope with it – I’m not a medical doctor and nothing here should be considered medical or healthcare advice … I just believe this is a healthy way to share my experience and I hope it’ll prove to be therapeutic.

For friends, family and other persons interested, I’ll be trying to post daily blog updates to keep everyone looped into my progress. I really appreciate all the love and support I’m receiving, but I’m finding myself spending a lot of time just sending emails and texts to keep all of your caring folks informed – hopefully this will help.

For folks dealing with this disease I’ll also be sharing any valuable resources that I find via the page – likely in featured posts – but I’ve yet to decide exactly the structure the site will take. I will of course be keeping everything well organized for easy access.

Leave a Reply

